@vinilox @andrewwhite The administrator has to enable it in the configuration: $config['profile']['delete'] = true;
It's off by default because our primary aim is having community sites where the act of deleting an account is probably only done when communicating with others about it. The risk of someone deleting an account (no recovery method is available) because they get hold of a password or whatever is unnecessarily large to enable it by default imho.

And "slower" deletion processes would require development time... I think it's better users know their admin and can talk to them about it :)